Spanish fighter Pedro Carrasco won the World Boxing Council Lightweight title on Friday (5 November) in a controversial contest against Los Angeles boxer Mando Ramos.
Boxers in ring
Start of fight, with Ramos in blue shorts attacking from the right corner.
Carrasco falls to ground.
Timeclock, referee watching sparring.
Round 7 Sign.
Fight in progress.
Carrasco falls to ground. Ramos in neutral corner.
Man at ringside.
Carrasco falls to ground, referee counts.
Carrasco knocked down by Ramos.
Carrasco wrestled to ground. Ramos sent to neutral corner.
Referee ends fight. Fighters looked puzzled.
Spectators watch as Carrasco has arms raised by referee and is surrounded by supporters.
Script is copyright Reuters Limited. All rights reserved
Background: Spanish fighter Pedro Carrasco won the World Boxing Council Lightweight title on Friday (5 November) in a controversial contest against Los Angeles boxer Mando Ramos. The referee, Nigerian Samuel Odubote, was the centre of uproar after he stopped the 15-round bout in the 11th round. The referee up dismissed Ramos apparently for throwing the Spanish fighter to the ground.
SYNOPSIS: A controversial World Boxing Council Lightweight title fight began in Madrid on Friday as Spanish fighter Pedro Carrasco and Mando Ramos, from Los Angeles, went into action.
Ramos, wearing blue shorts, came in from the right-hand corner and attacked Carrasco. At the start Ramos appeared technical superior. He boxed accurately and forcefully to Carrasco's face and body.
Nigerian referee Samuel Odubote kept close watch on the proceedings. The World Boxing Council Lightweight Title fell vacant after the organisation stripped Scotland's Ken Buchanan of the title because he failed to defend it against Carrasco.
From Round Eight onwards it was obvious that Carrasco was in trouble. Ramos kept up the pressure...he had held the crown previously before losing it to Ismael Laguna of Panama in March 1970.
The crowd was enthusiastic as Carrasco was again dropped to the ground by the Mexican American's pressure.
When Carrasco went to ground again in the 11th round of the 15-round bout, the referee stopped the fight. He disqualified the Los Angeles fighter apparently for throwing the Spaniard to the ground.
There was immediate controversy among ringside commentators over whether Carrasco fell against Ramos or whether he was thrown to the canvas at the very end of round 11. Confusion reigned as the bell sounded for Round 12..but then Carrasco was declared the winner.